Skip Navigation
York U: Redefine the PossibleHOME | Current Students | Faculty & Staff | Research | International
Future Students, Alumni & Visitors
FacultiesLibrariesCampus MapsYork U OrganizationDirectorySite Index

Help with Research

The Bronfman Business Library's experienced and knowledgeable business librarians offer York University students and faculty research assistance in a number of ways:

The Library's on-site print collection includes more than 25,000 volumes, and approximately 300 print subscriptions, including journals, trade magazines and newspapers. Topics covered include but are not limited to: accounting, business ethics, finance, international business, management, marketing, nonprofit sector, operations management, organizational behaviour, and strategic planning and management. Electronic resources are in high demand by today's business researcher and the Library provides access to an in-depth collection of electronic business resources.

The Library subscribes to an extensive collection of full-text and numeric databases, (included are approximately 5000 business journals, trade magazines and newspapers), most of which may be accessed online using your Passport York ID. However, there is no single electronic resource/database that will meet all of your research needs. The best database/resource to use depends upon the type of research you are doing. For example, if you need articles, ProQuest's ABI/Inform suite of databases or EBSCO's Business Source Premier database are the most helpful. If you need company information, the Financial Post Advisor, Mergent and other key databases have detailed company text and financial information. Similarly if you are looking for marketing, stock data, HR, etc, other databases/resources may be more useful. The guides listed below will help you select appropriate research electronic resources/ databases for your specific research neets.

If you are looking for materials in the catalogue e.g. print or electronic books, journals, databases etc please see the Search tips for the Catalogue & Article Databases.

The following links lead to recommended resources for frequently researched topics. Some of the links will take you to subject guides prepared by Bronfman Business Library Reference Staff; other links lead to comprehensive lists of resources.

Company Research Arts and Cultural Management
Industry Research Corporate Governance
Search Tips for the Catalogue and Article Databases
Business and Marketing Plans
Business Resources A-Z - York subscriptions + Internet
Market Share and Company Ranking
Statistical Research including Canadian Census
Emergency Management
Business Web Links - a wiki - under construction
Nonprofit Management
Web Research Tutorial
Course Related Assignment Web Pages
Finding Newspapers Tutorial
Key Business Databases

Citing Sources

All references to websites, articles, books, data sources, or quotations used, whether published in print or electronically, must be cited. For more information please see York University's Academic Integrity Website

For assistance in citing your sources click on either:



Created by Elizabeth Watson, YUL/BBL, August 2007 Revised January 2010.

Bookmark and Share
Last modified by: Elizabeth Watson on Tue Jan 19 15:31:24 EST 2010