Arts and Cultural Management Research Guide
This guide was designed to help students find information about Arts and Cultural Management topics. It is not intended as a complete list of resources. The material in this guide can be found via the York Libraries catalogue, the York University Libraries web site, and the Internet.
- Material in the York Libraries catalogue
- Indexes and Abstract Databases
- Research Guides
- Government Web Resources
- Arts and Culture Web Resources/Electronic Publications
To find books and other materials in the York catalogue ( www.library.yorku.ca) try terms such as: arts management, mass media management, and theatre management in the keyword field. We have an expanding databases of electronic books from Scholars Portal that includes many full-text resources that are relevant to arts and media administration. These ebooks are available 24 hours a day from anywhere as long as you sign-in with your Passport York account. The title of the database is E-books at Scholars Portal. You may search by keyword, author, title, publisher etc
Also, on the library’s homepage there is a tab across the top for Resources and then Statistical Data leading you to the Library Data Services list of statistical data by subject at http://www.library.yorku.ca/ccm/LibraryDataServices/SubjectGuides/index.htm. The first topic covered is Arts, Cultural and Entertainment which has data and statistics for Canada, the US, and other countries.
This resource incorporates management, industry and company-specific information of both a practical and theoretical nature. Subjects covered include: finance, health administration, public administration, marketing, management, economics, taxation, telecommunications, corporate strategies, competitive and product information. Contains over 3000 business and management publications. (note: ABI/Inform Global, Trade and Industry and CBCA may be combined into one search)
A database with full-text coverage of over 1200 publications, especially trade publications, with articles about individual trades and industries. Coverage is available for industries in different geographical areas including Canada and the United States. Updates are continuous and full-text is available for some publications back to early 1990′s.
N.B. ABI/Inform Global and Trade and Industry are only two of the many ProQuest databases available. When you open up any of the ProQuest databases you can select all of the databases in which you wish to search, by clicking on Databases Selected in the upper left of the screen and then choose the ones you desire. Return to the top of the screen and click on Continue.
Provides interdisciplinary coverage of Canadian topics including the areas of business and current affairs. Offers references, and many full text articles, from Canadian journals, magazines, newspapers, and newswires. Dates of coverage vary by title but many full-text titles available from early or mid-1990s, while citations for many publications available from early 1980s onward. Consult CBCA Business , a subcomponent of the CBCA Complete database, in order to limit search specifically to Canadian business journals and magazines, but note that newspaper and newswire coverage are not offered by this product, and coverage of business topics in non-business publications is also not available. Available on the network but restricted to the York University community.
Indexes articles in academic and popular dance journals. Flexible keyword searching enables limits by document type, like biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, or by subject terms or by names of publications. Includes many full-text articles.
Contains full text for 7,792 periodicals and other sources, including scholarly journals, trade and general business magazines, monographs, country economic and industry reports, industry yearbooks, and market research reports. Available on the network but restricted to members of the York University community.
Provides a single point of electronic access to published research from a broad range of disciplines Journals published by Academic Press, Berkeley Electronic Press , Cambridge University Press, Emerald Publishing, Elsevier Science, Kluwer, IEEE, Oxford University Press, Project Muse, Springer Verlag, and John Wiley & Sons. Search business topics by selecting Search button and typing relevant keywords, or browse individual publication titles.
Indexes Canadian and international academic journals, magazines, and newspapers. All subjects are represented and articles on health administration and the health industry in Canada are included. Many articles are full text. Coverage is from 1988 – present.
A research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields. CMMC Provides indexing and abstracts for over 350 journals, and selected coverage of over 200 more. This database includes full text for more than 230 journals. Available on the network but restricted to the York University community.
Features coverage of approx. 300,000 companies worldwide with information from Reuters, Dow Jones, Hoovers, Dun & Bradstreet and more. Includes nearly 9,000 sources from 118 countries in 22 languages, including more than 120 continuously updated newswires and general business and industry publications like The Economist, Forbes, Fortune, Time, Newsweek, Finanz & Wirtschaft, Satellite News, BusinessWeek. Available on the network but restricted to the York University community.
This service makes available over 30,000 news, business, and legal information sources. Included are current international newspapers, as well as comprehensive company and industry reports.Information available includes trade and marketing reports, patent details, merger and acquisition analysis, country reports and industry and legal publications. Lexis-Nexis also provides access to numerous reference tools, including biographical information, company directories, quotations and Who’s Who titles. Available in the Schulich School of Business for the use of Schulich and Atkinson Administrative Studies students and faculty.
Art- See the subject research guide Art and Architecture
Dance- See the subject research guide Dance
Film – See the subject research guide Film
Music- See the subject research guides Music
Plays – See the subject research guides Plays
For government reports and statistics from Canada and other parts of the world see Arts, Culture and Entertainment at Library Data Services.
Heritage Canada Canadian Heritage is responsible for national policies and programs that promote Canadian content and foster cultural participation. Provides information about the Department of Canadian Heritage, as well as a wide variety of subjects including arts and culture, citizenship and identity, diversity and multiculturalism, international affairs, sport and youth.
Arts and Cultural Industries – Canadian Arts and Culture online branch.
Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission – Regulates Canadian broadcasting and telecommunications, under their respective legislation.
National Film Board of Canada – produces and distributes films and other audio-visual works which interpret Canada to Canadians and to other countries.
Canada Council for the Arts – encourages and promotes the study, enjoyment and production of works in the arts through financial support to artists and art organizations in the performing, literary and visual arts. The Canada Council Art Bank, the Killam Program, the Public Lending Right Commission and the Canadian Commission for UNESCO are all administered through the Canada Council.
Canadian Broadcasting Corporation – CBC/Radio-Canada is Canada’s national public broadcaster. CBC/Radio-Canada reaches Canadians through eight national radio and television networks, its full-service web sites, local/regional stations and affiliates, as well as the digital television channel Country Canada, and the continuous music network Galaxie .
Telefilm Canada – a cultural investor dedicated to the development and promotion of the Canadian film, television, new media and music industries.
Canadian Museum of Civilization – collects, maintains and exhibits Canada’s national military and human history collections.
National Gallery of Canada – develops and exhibits outstanding works of visual art throughout Canada and internationally.
Film Advisory Services – links to provincial film and arts programs, government tax credit programs and other incentives and programs.
Arts and Culture Web Sites/Electronic Publications
Research for the Arts – Statistical Insights on the Arts- Hill Strategies Research – a quantitative research series that aims to provide reliable, recent and insightful data on the state of the arts in Canada. Sponsored by the Ontario Arts Council, the Canada Council for the Arts, and the Department of Canadian Heritage.
Culture, Tourism and the Centre for Education Statistics Publications- This series analyses current issues in culture, tourism and education. Arts and culture issues include the economic impact of culture, the consumption of culture goods and services, government, personal and corporate spending on culture, the culture labour market, and international trade of culture goods and services.
Factors in Canadian Cultural Activities: Demographics and Cultural Crossovers involved in Book Reading, Performance Arts Attendance, Art Gallery Attendence, and Movie-Going This report provides insights into demographic and other factors involved in four cultural activities: Reading a book; Attending live performances; Visiting art galleries; and
Movie theatre attendance
Ontario Arts Council – Research section. Supports the work, planning and advocacy of artists and arts organizations across Ontario, while increasing the public’s understanding of the economic, social and cultural impacts of the arts.
Focus on Culture - This bulletin provides readers with articles and other features based on the surveys of cultural industries, institutions and activities available through the Culture Statistics Program. Using graphs and an easy-to-read format, the articles discuss topical issues in the field of Canadian culture. Each quarterly issue releases new articles based on different cultural surveys.
Canadian Framework for Cultural Statistics This framework for culture statistics documents the conceptual and definitional
aspects of measuring culture industries.
Canadian Culture Online Policy Statement The federal government developed a policy to ensure a dynamic and diverse Canadian cultural presence on the Internet. By anticipating a future where the majority of Canadians spend time in the digital interactive space being entertained, engaged and informed, the policy promotes creativity and the development of interactive Canadian cultural content for the digital 21st century.
Visual Arts- Canada Council. The Visual Arts Section provides creation, production and dissemination support in the fields of architecture, crafts, photography and the visual arts, as well as for the acquisition of works by Canadian artists.
Artists in Canada. Artistsincanada.com Canadian artists and resource directories.
A Guide to Federal Programs for the Film and Video Sector Provides an overview of the various federal programs available to the Canadian film and video industry. It outlines the mandate of each funding body supported by the federal government and briefly describes the eligibility criteria for its programs.
Broadcasting and TV
Report on Diversity in Broadcasting The Canadian Association of Broadcasters (CAB) is the national voice of Canada’s private broadcasters, representing the vast majority of Canadian programming services including private television and radio stations, networks and specialty, pay and pay-per view television services.
Our Cultural Sovereignty: The Second Century of Canadian Broadcasting Report of the Standing Committee on Canadian heritage, House of Commons, 2003.
Final Report: A Review of the Canadian Television Fund and Its Impact on the Industry and Economy Report of the Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communiations, 2007.
Radio Listening Statistics Canada’s radio listening project has been discontinued. As a result, this 2008 issue is the last release of radio listening data.
Radio Broadcasting Industry This Statistics Canada publication provides national and regional financial and operating statistics for the radio broadcasting industry including air time sales, programming expenses and employment statistics. Selected statistics are available for large metropolitan areas, by language of broadcast and type of broadcaster (AM and FM).
Television Viewing The television broadcasting sector’s operating revenues from Statistics Canada.
Cable and Satellite Television Industry The operating revenue of cable and satellite television companies from Statistics Canada.
The Canadian Music Industry – 2008 Economic Profile This document presents an overview of the evolution of the music industry. It provides a reference point to compare the Canadian music market with the global music industry, and identifies the principal trends affecting the industry’s scope and activities.
Music Distribution in Canada The purpose of this document is to provide a profile of the English and French-language components of the Canadian music distribution industry, and to identify principal issues facing the industry in order to help Canadian Heritage gain a better understanding of the distribution sector.
Music – Canada Council The Canada Council for the Arts provides support for the development of individuals, groups, small ensembles, orchestras and other professionals working in the Canadian music community. In addition to tours, concert production, sound recordings and festival programming, the Music Section funds a variety of related activities such as residencies and the commissioning of Canadian compositions.
Toronto Alliance for the Performing Arts An industry-wide survey of professional not-for-profit and commercial theatre, dance and opera companies in the City of Toronto.
Museums and Art Galleries
Report on Business for the Arts Annual Survey of Public Museums and Art Galleries The report examines the situation of non-profit museums and art galleries in Canada, based on the 2006-2007 Business for the Arts Annual Survey of Public Museums and Art Galleries .
Compiled by Toni Olshen Revised April 2011