Skip to main content
Glendon Campus Alumni Research Giving to York Media Careers International York U Lions Accessibility
Future Students Current Students Faculty and Staff
Faculties Libraries York U Organization Directory Site Index Campus Maps
Peter F. Bronfman Business Library > Peter F. Bronfman Business Library Guides > Industry Research

Industry Research

Competitive Edge Seminar – Industry Research

This guide is an introduction to sources used to research industries. It highlights some of the key research tools available but it is not intended as a comprehensive list of sources. The sources listed below are available in print or electronically at the Peter F. Bronfman Business Library, or York University students, faculty and staff may access the electronic resources remotely by using the proxy server and signing on with their Passport York ID. Research staff in the library are pleased to offer assistance to members of the York University community, either in person, by phone, IM Chat or by email.

You will find that there is lots of information from a number of sources on many industries and almost nothing on other industries. Generally speaking there are reports on the larger well established industries and perhaps only articles and limited information on smaller, niche industries. A search on the Internet may turn up reports on an industry but unless it is published in our subscription databases you may only have access to it, if you purchase it. We regret that the Bronfman Business Library does not have funds to purchase industry reports for students. However, please check with our reference staff as we may know of similar reports available in the many databases to which we do subscribe.

To get information on manufacturing processes consult Ullmann’s Encyclopedia of Industrial Processes.

This guide is divided into the following sections:


Industrial Classification Codes

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC)

The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) is a useful tool for identifying key companies within an industry and conceptualizing the industry as a whole. SIC codes group together companies based on the goods and services produced.

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is an industrial classification system common to Canada, United States and Mexico. Gradually, the SIC system will be phased out in favour of the NAIC system. There are some differences however so if questions arise you will need to refer to:

Canada – NAICS 2007

SIC codes are still used in a number of databases and print reference resources. In some cases, the SIC codes used in Canada differ from those used in the U.S. A print version of the SIC table of codes is found in the Canadian Key Business Directory available in the Bronfman Business Library Reference Room. The Line of Business section groups Canadian businesses by SIC code. SIC codes for Canada are also available on Statistics Canada’s web site .

U.S. Census Bureau: NAICS

Searching Databases by Industry Classification Codes

The following are two examples of searching using classification codes.

Infomart supports searching by Global Industry Classification Standards (GICS). Click on Companies by Industry or Industry Reports in the left navbar. If searching Companies by Industry you will get a list of companies. If searching Industry Reports you will get quarterly results by leading companies and an industry data bank which may be used for benchmarking.

To identify competitors internationally, Mergent Online can be searched by SIC or NAICS or MIC (Mergent Industry code) from the home page and you will retrieve a list of companies or you may limit by country. Search by clicking on Report Search on the blue search bar at the top of the screen and then scroll down and select the industry. We only subscribe to North American industry reports. You will receive a detailed report and Canada and the United States are treated separately within the North American report.

 Industry Reports, Trends and Analysis

Canada:

Resources included in this section are ones limited to Canadian sources only. More information on Canadian industries may be available in the International section below.

Industry Canada’s website for business and industry includes industry surveys, company directories, and patent and trademark databases. Use the links on the right side navbar. Much of the information on individual industries is found under Information by Industrial Sector and also via Canadian Industry Statistics (arranged by NAICS) . These are good sources for information on manufacturing industries and the high technology sector. This site is beginning to include information on service industries and e-Commerce. The SME Benchmarking Tool “is an interactive on-line financial performance tool to help new and established firms determine how your business measures up to the competition. It allows you to enter your company’s financial data confidentially and compare it to industry averages.

Infomart : Provides information and data on the key Canadian public companies. Select Industry Reports for general industry statistics and financial ratios. Also look at Infomart Companies by Industry for a list of companies within industries.

Statistics Canada Publications . This is an index of all Statistics Canada publications available on the Internet as part of the York University Libraries depository library status. Divided into key subject categories including Primary Industries, Commerce and Manufacturing which all include publications of relevance to different industry sectors in Canada. The access is from within the York University Libraries only.

Key industry ratios for Canada are also available to members of the York University community from the following Statistics Canada publications:

Quarterly Financial Statistics for Enterprises (4th Q, 2000 – present)

Older issues (1996-2000) available in print at the Scott Library (CAN1 CS8.5 61-008)

Financial and Taxation Statistics for Enterprises (1999-present)

Older issues (1995-1998) available in print at the Scott Library (CAN1 CS8.5 61-219)

CANSIM : Statistics Canada’s computerized database containing over 730,000 time series. It is a detailed source of Canadian industry data. Also available via E-STAT (easier to use)

Associations Canada : Provides a comprehensive listing of Canadian Associations. Associations may provide additional industry statistical information, contacts for individuals and companies, as well as detailed information on the industry as a whole.

For more information on market share please go to the Bronfman Business Library Market Share guide.

International Resources

Bloomberg is a real-time financial service that provides current and historical data, news and financial analysis of companies, stocks, bonds, and indices.Economic statistics are also available. To search for U.S. industry information type IBQ for a list of industries available. Restricted to the York University Community and available in the Bronfman Business Library only.

Business Monitor Online : contains quarterly surveys and forecasts on industries by country and region.

Datamonitor360 : This is a new database formed from a merger of MarketLine and Business Insights. It includes Industry, Country, and Company sections, market profiles, company profiles, company SWOT analysis, more than 50 country profiles, over 150 industry rankings, and news, comments and analysis, Available on the network but restricted to the York University community.

GMID (Global Market Information Database by Euromonitor): Provides country statistics and profiles, lifestyle indicators and analysis, market data and analysis, and company profiles and market shares.

IBISWorld China : Includes industry reports on China.

IBISWorld USA : Includes US and global industry reports and a business environment database. Many of the reports are on small industries not included in Mergent and MarketLine.

Investext Plus : A database providing global company and industry research and forecasts, reports are from key brokerage firms and consultants. To search for industry reports, click on Research at the top of the screen and the Full Search. You may search by SIC, NAICS or text. N.B. Be sure to change the report date to a longer period than the 90 day default range to retrieve a good selection of reports.

Market Share Reporter: An annual compilation of reported market share data on companies, products and services published in periodical literature. Most of the market share information is for the United States market unless Canada is specified. Available in the Reference Room call number HF 5410 M33.

Mergent Online Provides analysis of over twenty key industries in North America including coverage for Canada and the United States. Main areas contained in each report include: the industry landscape, market trends and market outlook. To access the industry reports click on the Report Search tab within Mergent Online.

Standard & Poor’s Industry Surveys: Detailed surveys of over 50 USA industries. Coverage includes industry trends, key ratios and a guide to analyzing companies in each industry. These are available via NetAdvantage Click on the Industries tab at the top of the screen and select your industry from the drop down menu or use the drop down menu under Quick Links – Industry Surveys

Plunkett Research provides research and trends analysis on a variety of industries, including energy, e-commerce, retailing and finance. In addition to the industry reports, it includes statistics, charts and profiles of leading companies. Primarily US information but some Canadian information is available.

Value Line Investment Survey: Provides short introductory reports on each industry and detailed 1-2 page reports on the key companies in each industry. Located in the Bronfman Business Library Reference Room and the call number is HG 4501 V26.

Standard & Poors Analysts’ Handbook. Provides industry statistics and financial ratios for over 100 industries in the US. Includes income accounts and balance sheet items, as well as sales, profit margins, earnings, dividends, capital expenditures, etc… Available in the Bronfman Business Library Reference room and the call number is HG 4519 S772.

Industry Financial Performance and Ratios

Canada:

Infomart- Industry Reports(see description above)

Financial Performance Indicators: A Statistics Canada datafile containing key financial ratios by industry including the net profit margin, pretax profit margin, return on equity and liabilities to assets. Available on a stand-alone workstation in the Bronfman Business Library.

United States:

Key industry financial ratios are available from Standard & Poor’s Analyst Handbook, located in the Reference Room (HG4519 S772), from RMA’s Annual Statement Studies, and from finance.yahoo.com and from Bloomberg (available in the Bronfman Business library only).

Damodaran Industry Betas : Prof. Aswath Damodaran, Stern School of Business at New York University, has created a total betas by sector web page as well. His website has lots of other very useful and hard to find data and guides.

Public Companies Worldwide

Factiva Click on the Companies/Markets tab on the top of the screen and then click on Company and enter the name of the company. Under Snapshot, click on Reports and select either Financial Health.

Google Finance: Valuation ratios that give you industry and sector comparisons for your company are available.  Search and display your company.  Then scroll down and click on “more ratios from Thomson Reuters” on the left side of screen.

Hoovers Provides ratios by comparing top competitors and industry median and market median ratios. Find your company’s report in Hoovers and click on Competitive Landscape.

NetAdvantage Use the Industry Surveys drop down menu on the right hand side of the screen to select your industry and you will find comparative company analysis ratios.

Business Rankings Annual Available in the Bronfman Business Library Reference Room (HD 2709 B88)

Annual rankings by Report on Business Magazine and Financial Post Magazine rank companies within specific sectors and industries.

The following business periodicals also publish annual rankings: Forbes (HF5001 F685), Fortune (HC411 F18), Far East Economic Review (HC411 F18). The rankings are available online but difficult to read.

Finding Articles on Industries and Industry Trends

Information on industry trends, technological pressures, and forecasts, etc may be found by searching the following databases for newspaper and magazine articles. Help navigating these databases and/or developing your search strategy is available by contacting our research service.

ABI/Inform Global: An index to over 3000 business and management periodicals. Many of the articles are available full-text. ABI/Inform Global may be combined with ABI/Inform Trade and Industry, CBCA, ProQuest Asian, and ProQuest European for one stop searching. Use the Select Multiple Databases options to add the databases you wish to search.

ABI/Inform Trade and Industry: A database with full-text coverage of over 800 publications, especially trade publications, with articles about industries in different geographical areas including Canada and the United States. Updates are continuous and full-text is available for some publications back to early 1990′s.

Business Source Premier: contains full text for 7,500 periodicals and other sources, including scholarly journals, trade and general business magazines, monographs, country economic and industry reports, industry yearbooks, and market research reports.

CBCA Complete (Canadian Business and Current Affairs: Fulltext Business) :P rovides interdisciplinary coverage of Canadian topics including the areas of business and current affairs. Offers references, and many full text articles, from Canadian journals, magazines, newspapers, and newswires. Dates of coverage vary by title but many full-text titles available from early or mid-1990s, while citations for many publications available from early 1980s onward. Consult CBCA Business, a sub-component of the CBCA Complete database, in order to limit search specifically to Canadian business journals and magazines, but note that newspaper and newswire coverage are not offered by this product, and coverage of business topics in non-business publications is also not available.

Computer Database: Computer industry and consumer news and developments. Contains the full text of articles appearing in various computer industry and computing periodicals such as PC magazine, along with related newsletters. Also indexes and provides abstracts to articles published in additional computer-oriented publications. Items indexed include computer product reviews, new product announcements, industry overviews, buyer’s guides, product specifications, vendor profiles and other documents.

Factiva : includes nearly 9,000 sources from 118 countries in 22 languages, including more than 120 continuously updated newswires. For newspapers, the service provides same-day and archival coverage of The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, Washington Post, The Globe and Mail, National Post, Toronto Star, Financial Times, Les Echos, South China Morning Post, Australian Financial Review, Sydney Morning Herald, Straits Times, Yomiuri Shimbun, and local newspapers from every corner of the globe. Note the option to limit article search to a specific industry or when you retrieve your results use the left navbar to refine your results.

Lexis-Nexis Academic: Lexis-Nexis service makes available over 30,000 news, business, and legal information sources. Included are current international newspapers, as well as comprehensive company and industry reports.Information available includes trade and marketing reports, patent details, merger and acquisition analysis, country reports and industry and legal publications.

Proquest European Business & Proquest Asian Business useful for tracking articles where the focus is a European or Asian industry. European Business includes access to full-text articles for some 110 titles, while Asian Business provides full-text articles from 75 titles.

Industry Statistics

In addition to other resources mentioned above, the York University Data Librarian has provided links on the Library Data Services Web site. Ones of particular interest for industry research are:

Current Industrial Reports (USA) Provides annual, quarterly and monthly industrial activities.

Statistical Abstract of the United States Provides statistics on industries and manufacturing in the United States.

Regulatory Environment

Statutes and Regulations of Canada and the provinces are available on the internet from the Access to Justice Network ( http://www.acjnet.org/ ). Select Legislative materials by jurisdiction.

For an explanation of the regulatory environment for a given industry, consult the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest which is available in print at the Law Library or electronically at the public workstations in the libraries.

Professional and industry associations may impose regulations on members. Identify related associations using Associations Canada and check their publications and websites for rules and regulations governing members.

 


Bronfman Business Library Reference Librarians, Last revised by EW March 2012