Skip to main content
Glendon Campus Alumni Research Giving to York Media Careers International York U Lions Accessibility
Future Students Current Students Faculty and Staff
Faculties Libraries York U Organization Directory Site Index Campus Maps
York University Libraries > Librarian and Archivist Profiles

Librarian and Archivist Profiles

Listed below are the current members and research interests of librarians and archivists at York University Libraries.

In October of 2009 they unanimously agreed on the York University Open Access Policy for Librarians and Archivists.

Librarian Research interests
Allison-Cassin, Stacy
BMus (WLU), MMus (Duq), MISt (Toronto)
Cataloguing Librarian, Bibliographic Services
sacassin@yorku.ca
Knowledge organisation; communication; information technology; popular music; semiotics.
Archer, Cynthia
University Librarian, University Librarian’s Officecarcher@yorku.ca
Bristow, Timothy
Assistant Librarian, Scott Library
timothyb@yorku.ca
Political science.
Bury, Sophie
BA (Trinity College Dublin) MLIS (University College Dublin)
Head, Bronfman Business Library
sbury@yorku.ca
Information literacy assessment; faculty perspectives/habits/practices in the realm of information literacy; university students’ research habits/skills.
Cao, Haiyun
B.E.E (HIT), M.E. (HIT), MLIS (McGill)
Cataloguing Librarian, Bibliographic Services
hcao@yorku.ca
Metadata; controlled vocabulary; East Asian materials cataloguing.
Coysh, Sarah
BEd (Queen’s), MEd (Queen’s), MISt (Toronto)
E-Learning Librarian, Frost Library
scoysh@yorku.ca
Online learning; information literacy; emerging technologies; secondary school music education.
Craig, Dana
MI (Toronto)
Environmental Studies Librarian, Scott Library
dcraig@yorku.ca
Davidson, Catherine
MLS
Associate University Librarian, University Librarian’s Office
cdavids@yorku.ca
Innovative collection development practices, assessment and evaluation and work-life balance.
Denton, William
MISt (Toronto)
Web Librarian
wdenton@yorku.ca
Augmented reality; information visualization; mathematics and LIS; library history; the One Big Library; the Semantic Web; linked data.
Drexler, Julianna
BA (Hons) (York), MLS (Toronto)
Head, Frost Library
drexler@yorku.ca
Bibliography; indexing.
Dubeau, Suzanne
MISt (Toronto)
Assistant Head, Clara Thomas Archives and Special Collections
sdubeau@yorku.ca
Duerr, Peter
BA, MLIS
Government Information Librarian (Domestic), Scott Library
pduerr@yorku.ca
Dupuis, John
BCompSci (Concordia), MLIS (McGill)
Science Librarian, Head, Steacie Science Library
jdupuis@yorku.ca
Use of Web 2.0 by scholarly publishers (and by scholars in general); blogging as a professional development tool for librarians; future trends in academic science libraries.
Elder, Kathryn
BA (Hons) (McMaster), BLS, MLS (Toronto)
Head, Sound & Moving Image Library
kelder@yorku.ca
Avant-garde media; media preservation; art history.
Fernandez, Leila
BSc, MSc, MLS
Physical Sciences Librarian, Steacie Science Library
leilaf@yorku.ca
Scholarly communication issues in the sciences; particularly pertaining to developing countries.
Fraser, Heather
BA (Hons), MLS
Head, Bibliographic Services, Scott Library
hfraser@yorku.ca
Technical services workflow; metadata schemas; emerging technologies and cataloguing trends.
Giesbrecht, Walter
BSc, MLIS
Data Librarian, Scott Library
walterg@yorku.ca
Web design; data dissemination; emerging technologies in libraries.
Grewal, Kalina
BA, MA, MEd, MLIS
Anthropology, Sociology, Women’s Studies Librarian , Scott Library
kgrewal@yorku.ca
He, Ling
Digital Services Librarian (adjunct), Bibliographic Services
linghe@yorku.ca
Open repositories; digital preservation; Semantic Web; digitization; metadata.
Holland, Julia
BA, MISt (Toronto)
Adjunct Archivist, Clara Thomas Archives and Special Collections
jholland@yorku.ca
Kandiuk, Mary
BA, MA, MLS
Theatre, Visual Arts Librarian, Scott Library
mkandiuk@yorku.ca
Canadian literature bibliography; diversity and librarians.
Kosavic, Andrea
BSc (Hons), MISt
Digital Initiatives Librarian, Bibliographic Services
Blog | akosavic@yorku.ca
Repositories; open access; author rights; new publishing models; open source; interoperability; Semantic Web; digitization; metadata.
Li, Xuemei
MLIS, PhD, MSc
Assistant Librarian, Bronfman Business Library
lixuemei@yorku.ca
Data librarianship; information-seeking behaviour; social media; scholarly communication.
Lupton, Aaron
BA, MA, MLS
Electronic Resources Librarian, Bibliographic Services
aalupton@yorku.ca
Electronic resource access and management; library-vendor relationships; embedded library services; electronic resource evaluation and assessment; electronic collection development.
Maimets, Ilo-Katryn
BSc (Hons), BEd, MSc (York), MISt (Toronto)
Science Librarian, Steacie Library
ilo@yorku.ca
Majekodunmi, Norda Bell
BA (York), MISt (Toronto)
Social Work Librarian, Scott Library
nordam@yorku.ca
Accessibility of library resources (especially electronic resources) and services to users with disabilities; scholarly communication issues including the open access movement and the scholarship of academic librarians and their information use; application of Web 2.0 technologies (e.g. blogs, wikis, social tagging software) to libraries.
Matesic, Maura
BA, MA, MLS
Social Sciences Librarian, Scott Library
mmatesic@yorku.ca
Teaching with technology; peer learning and collaborative learning initiatives; Victorian social history.
McLaren, Scott
BA, MISt, PhD (Toronto)
Humanities & Religious Studies Librarian, Scott Library
scottm@yorku.ca
Book history and print culture; North American religious history; Bible societies; religion and literature.
Mgwigwi, Thumeka
BA, BLIS, MLIS
Health Studies Librarian, Scott Library
thumekam@yorku.ca
Information literacy and assessment.
Moir, Michael
BA (UofT), MA (Guelph)
University Archivist, Head, Clara Thomas Archives & Special Collections
mmoir@yorku.ca
History of shipbuilding and waterfront development in Canada, especially Toronto.
Nariani, Rajiv
MES (York), MISt (Toronto)
Science Librarian, Steacie Science Library
rajivn@yorku.ca
E-Books and their uptake by the research community; using technology tools in promoting resources at the libraries; collection development in the sciences.
Orlandini, Rosa
BSc (Winnipeg), MLIS (McGill)
GIS and Map Librarian, Head, Map Library
rorlan@yorku.ca
Geographic Information Literacy; Cartography; ethnicity mapping; GIS; metadata
Robertson, Mark
BA (UofT), MA (McMaster), MISt (Toronto)
Associate University Librarian (Information Services), University Librarian’s Office
markr@yorku.ca
Library as place; learning environments; learning commons; integration of information literacy within the curriculum; virtual reference.
Ruest, Nick
BA, MLIS
Digital Assets Librarian, Bibliographic Services
ruestn@yorku.ca
Archives, Copyright, Data Management, Digital Preservation, Institutional Repositories, Intellectual Freedom, Linked Data, Metadata, OAI, Open Repositories, Scholarly Communication, Semantic Web
Ryan, Patti
BA, MLIS, MA
Political Science and Reference Collection Librarian, Scott Library
pryan@yorku.ca
Women and politics; feminist theory; critical pedagogy; socio-political dimensions of information literacy.
Salmon, Marcia
BSc (Hons) (Toronto), MLIS (Western)
Cataloguing Librarian, Bibliographic Services
msalmon@yorku.ca
Cataloguing training; providing access to electronic content; open access and institutional repositories.
Savard, Dany
BA (UofT), MA (Ryerson), MLIS (Western)
Reference Librarian, Frost Library
dsavard@yorku.ca
Assessment, public administration.
Scott, Tom
BA, MA, MLIS
Head, Reference Department, Scott Library
History and Economics Librarian, Scott Library
tscott@yorku.ca
Sloniowski, Lisa
BA, MA, MISt
English Literature Librarian, Scott Library
lisasl@yorku.ca
Feminist archives and special collections; literary special collections, information literacy for citizenship; advocacy for librarians; the role of libraries in the public sphere and in the formation of counter-publics.
St. Onge, Anna
Archivist, Digital Projects and Outreach, Clara Thomas Archives & Special Collections
astonge@yorku.ca
Stymest, Kim
Adjunct Librarian, Peter F. Bronfman Business Library
stymest@yorku.ca
Taves, Adam
Reference & Instruction Librarian (Psychology & Linguistics), Scott Library
taves@yorku.ca
van der Bliek, Rob
BFA, MFA, MLIS
Music Librarian, Sound & Moving Image Library
bliek@yorku.ca
Jazz and popular music analysis and history; theoretical implications of storage and retrieval issues for digital audio databases; preservation of sound through digitization; practical interests include the guitar issues in collection development, and web technology.
Warren, Peggy
BA, MLIS, Cert. pédagogie, Cert. estudios hispánicos, Cert. langues et litt. françaises
Education / Romance Languages & Literatures Librarian, Scott Library
pwarren@yorku.ca
Learning Commons teaching collaborations