Skip to main content
Glendon Campus Alumni Research Giving to York Media Careers International York U Lions Accessibility
Future Students Current Students Faculty and Staff
Faculties Libraries York U Organization Directory Site Index Campus Maps
York University Libraries > Subject Specialists

Subject Specialists

Subject librarians have their own areas of specialty. The list below explains who is responsible for what subjects. Please contact them if you have any questions.

In most cases a subject librarian also serves as the general liaison librarian for a given department or faculty. Please see
Your Liaison Librarian and You for information on what your liaison librarian can do for you.

Collection development policies are also linked. They are written by subject librarians (bibliographers) who select materials for the Libraries. For an explanation of collecting levels please see
Collecting Levels.

(To telephone a librarian, call the main York switchboard at 416-736-2100 and then enter the extension number below.)

Subject Librarian Office Telephone Email
Anthropology (policy) Kalina Grewal 310E Scott 88894 kgrewal@yorku.ca
Archives (policy) Michael Moir 305 Scott 22457 mmoir@yorku.ca
Biology (policy) Ilo Maimets 102K Steacie 33927 ilo@yorku.ca
Business (policy) Sophie Bury S237B SSB 66951 sbury@yorku.ca
Business (policy) Xuemei Li S237W SSB 88865 lixuemei@yorku.ca
Chemistry (policy) Ruth Collings 102N Steacie 20006 ruthcol@yorku.ca
Classics (policy) Scott McLaren 310L Scott 88892 scottm@yorku.ca
Communication and Culture Kathryn Elder 125 Scott 88898 kelder@yorku.ca
Communications Studies (policy) Maura Matesic 310K Scott 66947 mmatesic@yorku.ca
Computer Science (policy) John Dupuis 102L Steacie 20396 jdupuis@yorku.ca
Critical Disability Studies Kalina Grewal 310E Scott 88894 kgrewal@yorku.ca
Dance (policy) Kathryn Elder 125 Scott 88898 kelder@yorku.ca
Data (numeric) Walter Giesbrecht 205E Scott 77551 walterg@yorku.ca
Design (policy) Mary Kandiuk 310H Scott 88890 mkandiuk@yorku.ca
Disaster and Emergency Management Studies Peter Duerr 310N Scott 88810 pduerr@yorku.ca
Earth and Atmospheric Sciences (policy) John Dupuis 102L Steacie 20396 jdupuis@yorku.ca
Economics (policy) Adam Taves 310D Scott 20074 taves@yorku.ca
Education (policy) Peggy Warren 310J Scott 22793 pwarren@yorku.ca
Engineering John Dupuis 102L Steacie 20396 jdupuis@yorku.ca
English (policy) Lisa Sloniowski 205C Scott 20075 lisasl@yorku.ca
Environmental Studies (policy) Dana Craig 310M Scott 22835 dcraig@yorku.ca
Equity Studies Scott McLaren 310L Scott 88892 scottm@yorku.ca
Films, Film and Video Studies (policy) Kathryn Elder 125 Scott 88898 kelder@yorku.ca
French (policy) Peggy Warren 310J Scott 22835 pwarren@yorku.ca
Frost Library Dany Savard 110B Frost 88267 dsavard@yorku.ca
Geography (policy) Rosa Orlandini 102 Scott 88863 rorlan@yorku.ca
GIS Rosa Orlandini 102 Scott 88863 rorlan@yorku.ca
Government Publications: Canada (policy) Peter Duerr 310N Scott 88810 pduerr@yorku.ca
Government Publications: Foreign & International (policy) Walter Giesbrecht 205EScott 77551 walterg@yorku.ca
Health Policy and Management (policy) Thumeka Mgwigwi 310G Scott 20073 thumekam@yorku.ca
History (policy) Tom Scott 205B Scott 33131 tscott@yorku.ca
Humanities Scott McLaren 310L Scott  88892 scottm@yorku.ca
Human Resources Management Sophie Bury S237B SSB  66951  sbury@yorku.ca
Italian (policy) Peggy Warren 310J Scott 22793 pwarren@yorku.ca
Kinesiology (policy) Sarah Shujah 102H Steacie 33945 sshujah@yorku.ca
Law (policy) Louis Mirando O24J Osgoode 55646 lmirando@osgoode.yorku.ca
Linguistics and other languages (policy) Adam Taves 310D Scott 20074 taves@yorku.ca
Linguistics (Romance languages) Peggy Warren 310J Scott 22793 pwarren@yorku.ca
Linguistics (East Asian languages) Adam Taves 310D Scott 20074 ataves@yorku.ca
Maps (policy) Rosa Orlandini Map Library 88863 rorlan@yorku.ca
Mathematics & Statistics (policy) Sarah Shujah 102H Steacie 33945 sshujah@yorku.ca
Music (policy) Rob van der Bliek 125 Scott 88880 bliek@yorku.ca
Nursing Ilo Maimets 102J Steacie 33927 ilo@yorku.ca
Philosophy (policy) Rob van der Bliek 125 Scott 88880 bliek@yorku.ca
Physics & Astronomy (policy) John Dupuis 102L Steacie 20396 jdupuis@yorku.ca
Political Science (policy) Patti Ryan 310R Scott 66469 pryan@yorku.ca
Psychology (policy) Adam Taves 310D Scott 20074 taves@yorku.ca
Portuguese (policy) Peggy Warren 310J Scott 22793 pwarren@yorku.ca
Reference (policy) Patti Ryan 310R Scott 66469 pryan@yorku.ca
Religious Studies (policy) Scott McLaren 310L Scott 88892 scottm@yorku.ca
Science and Technology Studies (policy) Sarah Shujah 102H Steacie 33945 sshujah@yorku.ca
Social Sciences Maura Matesic 310K Scott 66947 mmatesic@yorku.ca
Social Work (policy) Thumeka Mgwigwi 310G Scott 20073 thumekam@yorku.ca
Sociology (policy) Kalina Grewal 310E Scott 88894 kgrewal@yorku.ca
Sound Recordings (policy) Rob van der Bliek 105 Scott 88880 bliek@yorku.ca
Space and Communications (policy) John Dupuis 102L Steacie 20396 jdupuis@yorku.ca
Spanish (policy) Peggy Warren 310J Scott 22793 pwarren@yorku.ca
Special Collections (policy) Michael Moir 305 Scott 22457 mmoir@yorku.ca
Theatre (policy) Mary Kandiuk 310H Scott 88890 mkandiuk@yorku.ca
Visual Arts, Art History (policy) Mary Kandiuk 310H Scott 88890 mkandiuk@yorku.ca
Women’s Studies (policy) Kalina Grewal 310E Scott 88894 kgrewal@yorku.ca

Other contacts

Category Contact Office Telephone Email
Major Purchase Catherine Davidson 516 Scott 55601 cdavids@yorku.ca
General orders (books) Catherine Davidson 516 Scott 55601 cdavids@yorku.ca
General orders (journals) Catherine Davidson 516 Scott 55601 cdavids@yorku.ca
Reserves  Meredith Hatton CS133 Scott 44632 hatton@yorku.ca