Subject & Liaison Librarians

Our subject and liaison librarians are here to support you.

For Faculty and Graduate Students, Your Liaison Librarian and You explains what the Libraries’ liaison librarians do and how they can assist you. In most cases the liaison librarian is also the subject specialist for your department or faculty. To be sure though, refer to the name of your department on the list below to find the name of your liaison librarian.

You’ll also notice that in some cases, the collection development policy for that subject is listed. These policies are written by subject librarians who select materials for the Libraries. For an explanation of collecting levels please see Collecting Levels.

Please contact Associate University Librarian Adam Taves regarding major purchases, and general order inquiries.

For Undergraduate Students getting started with their research, or seeking a specific resource in their area of study, find your subject librarian by cross referencing the subject you’re studying with the name of the subject librarian.

Subject Librarian Office Telephone Email Department
Anthropology (policy) Kalina Grewal 310E Scott 88894 kgrewal@yorku.ca Anthropology
Biology (policy) Ilo Maimets 102K Steacie 33927 ilo@yorku.ca Biology
Business (policy) Angie An S237B SSB 66944 angiean@yorku.ca Business
Business (policy) Xuemei Li S237W SSB 88865 lixuemei@yorku.ca Business
Business (policy) Stephanie Quail S237V SSB 22747 quailste@yorku.ca Business
Chemistry (policy) Jacqueline Kreller-Vanderkooy 102J Steacie 40075 jkvan@yorku.ca Chemistry
Classics (policy) Scott McLaren 310L Scott 88892 scottm@yorku.ca Humanities
Communication and Culture Kathryn Elder 125 Scott 88898 kelder@yorku.ca Communication and Culture
Communications Studies
(policy)
Maura Matesic 310K Scott 66947 mmatesic@yorku.ca Communications Studies
Computer Science (policy) Sarah Shujah 102H Steacie 33945 sshujah@yorku.ca Computer Science
Critical Disability Studies Thumeka Mgwigwi 310G Scott 33796 thumekam@yorku.ca Critical Disability Studies, Graduate Program
Dance (policy) Kathryn Elder 125 Scott 88898 kelder@yorku.ca Dance
Design (policy) Mary Kandiuk 310H Scott 88890 mkandiuk@yorku.ca Design
Disaster and Emergency Management Studies Peter Duerr 310N Scott 88810 pduerr@yorku.ca Administrative Studies
Earth and Atmospheric Sciences (policy) Sarah Shujah 102H Steacie 33945 sshujah@yorku.ca
Economics (policy) Thumeka Mgwigwi 310G Scott 20073 thumekam@yorku.ca Economics
Education (policy) Peggy Warren 310J Scott 22793 pwarren@yorku.ca Education
Engineering Sarah Shujah 102H Steacie 33945 sshujah@yorku.ca Engineering
English (policy) Lisa Sloniowski 205C Scott 20075 lisasl@yorku.ca English
Environmental Studies (policy) Dana
Craig
310M Scott 22835 dcraig@yorku.ca Environmental Studies
Equity Studies Norda Majekodunmi 310D Scott 33392 nordam@yorku.ca Equity Studies
Film and Video Studies (policy) Kathryn Elder 125 Scott 88898 kelder@yorku.ca Film
French (policy) Peggy Warren 310J Scott 22835 pwarren@yorku.ca French Studies
Frost Library Dany Savard 110B Frost 88267 dsavard@yorku.ca Frost Library
Geography (policy) Rosa Orlandini 102 Scott 88863 rorlan@yorku.ca Geography
Health Policy and Management
(policy)
Thumeka Mgwigwi 310G Scott 33796 thumekam@yorku.ca
History (policy) Tom Scott 205B Scott 33131 tscott@yorku.ca History
Humanities Scott McLaren 310L Scott 88892 scottm@yorku.ca Humanities
Human Resources Management Sophie
Bury
S237B SSB 66951 sbury@yorku.ca Business
Italian (policy) Peggy Warren 310J Scott 22793 pwarren@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Kinesiology (policy) Rajiv Nariani 102L Steacie 20396 rajivn@yorku.ca Kinesiology
Law (policy) Louis Mirando O24J Osgoode 55646 lmirando@osgoode.yorku.ca Law
Linguistics and Other Languages (policy) Adam Taves 310D Scott 20074 taves@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Linguistics (Romance Languages) Peggy Warren 310J Scott 22793 pwarren@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Linguistics (East Asian Languages) Haiyun Cao 105C Scott 20458 hcao@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Mathematics & Statistics
(policy)
Rajiv Nariani 102L Steacie 20396 rajivn@yorku.ca Mathematics
Music (policy) Rob van der Bliek 125 Scott 88880 bliek@yorku.ca Music
Natural Science Sarah Shujah 102H Steacie 33945 sshujah@yorku.ca Division of Natural Science
Nursing Ilo Maimets 102J Steacie 33927 ilo@yorku.ca Nursing
Philosophy (policy) Stacy Allison-Cassin 105D Scott 20461 sacassin@yorku.ca Philosophy
Physics & Astronomy
(policy)
Jacqueline Kreller-Vanderkooy 102J Steacie 40075 jkvan@yorku.ca Physics
Political Science (policy) Timothy Bristow 310F Scott 30124 timothyb@yorku.ca Political Science
Psychology (policy) Thumeka Mgwigwi 310G Scott 20073 thumekam@yorku.ca Psychology
Portuguese (policy) Peggy Warren 310J Scott 22793 pwarren@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Religious Studies (policy) Scott McLaren 310L Scott 88892 scottm@yorku.ca
Science and Technology Studies (policy) Sarah Shujah 102H Steacie 33945 sshujah@yorku.ca Science & Technology Studies
Social Sciences Maura Matesic 310K Scott 66947 mmatesic@yorku.ca Social Sciences
Social Work (policy) Norda Majekodunmi 310D Scott 33392 nordam@yorku.ca Social Work
Sociology (policy) Kalina Grewal 310E Scott 88894 kgrewal@yorku.ca Sociology
Space and Communications
(policy)
Sarah Shujah 102H Steacie 33945 sshujah@yorku.ca
Spanish (policy) Peggy Warren 310J Scott 22793 pwarren@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Theatre (policy) Mary Kandiuk 310H Scott 88890 mkandiuk@yorku.ca Theatre
Visual Arts, Art History
(policy)
Mary Kandiuk 310H Scott 88890 mkandiuk@yorku.ca Visual Arts and Arts History
Women’s Studies (policy) Kalina Grewal 310E Scott 88894 kgrewal@yorku.ca Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies
Writing Department Scott McLaren 310L Scott 88892 scottm@yorku.ca Writing Department

Other contacts

Category Contact Office Telephone Email
Major Purchases Adam Taves 516 Scott 55601 taves@yorku.ca
General Orders (books) Adam Taves 516 Scott 55601 taves@yorku.ca
General Orders (journals) Adam Taves 516 Scott 55601 taves@yorku.ca
Reserves Meredith Hatton CS133 Scott 44632 hatton@yorku.ca
Data (numeric) Walter Giesbrecht 205E Scott 77551 walterg@yorku.ca
GIS Rosa Orlandini 102 Scott 88863 rorlan@yorku.ca
Government Publications:
Canada (policy)
Peter Duerr 310N Scott 88810 pduerr@yorku.ca
Government Publications:
Foreign & International (policy)
Walter Giesbrecht 205E Scott 77551 walterg@yorku.ca
Maps (policy) Rosa Orlandini Map Library 88863 rorlan@yorku.ca
Media Purchases Kathryn Elder 125 Scott 88898 kelder@yorku.ca
Reference (policy) Scott McLaren 310L Scott 88892 scottm@yorku.ca
Sound Recordings (policy) Rob van der Bliek 105 Scott 88880 bliek@yorku.ca
Special Collections (policy) Michael Moir 305 Scott 22457 mmoir@yorku.ca
Archives (policy) Michael Moir 305 Scott 22457 mmoir@yorku.ca