Subject & Liaison Librarians

Our subject and liaison librarians are here to support you.

For Faculty and Graduate Students, Your Liaison Librarian and You explains what the Libraries’ liaison librarians do and how they can assist you. In most cases the liaison librarian is also the subject specialist for your department or faculty. To be sure though, refer to the name of your department on the list below to find the name of your liaison librarian.

Please contact Associate University Librarian Adam Taves regarding major purchases, and general order inquiries.

For Undergraduate Students getting started with their research, or seeking a specific resource in their area of study, find your subject librarian by cross referencing the subject you’re studying with the name of the subject librarian.

Subject Librarian Office Telephone Email Department
Anthropology Kalina Grewal 310E Scott 88894 kgrewal@yorku.ca Anthropology
Biology Rajiv Nariani 102L Steacie 20396 rajivn@yorku.ca Biology
Business Angie An S237B SSB 66944 angiean@yorku.ca Business
Business Xuemei Li S237W SSB 88865 lixuemei@yorku.ca Business
Business Stephanie Quail S237V SSB 22747 quailste@yorku.ca Business
Chemistry Jacqueline Kreller-Vanderkooy 102J Steacie 40075 jkvan@yorku.ca Chemistry
Classics Scott McLaren 310L Scott 88892 scottm@yorku.ca Humanities
Communication and Culture Kathryn Elder 125 Scott 88898 kelder@yorku.ca Communication and Culture
Communications Studies Maura Matesic 310K Scott 66947 mmatesic@yorku.ca Communications Studies
Computer Science John Dupuis 102L Steacie 33945 jdupuis@yorku.ca Computer Science
Critical Disability Studies Thumeka Mgwigwi 310G Scott 33796 thumekam@yorku.ca Critical Disability Studies, Graduate Program
Dance Kathryn Elder 125 Scott 88898 kelder@yorku.ca Dance
Design Mary Kandiuk 310H Scott 88890 mkandiuk@yorku.ca Design
Digital Media Studies Rob van der Bliek 125 Scott 88880 bliek@yorku.ca Digital Media
John Dupuis 102L Steacie 33945 jdupuis@yorku.ca Digital Media
Disaster and Emergency Management Studies Peter Duerr 310N Scott 88880 pduerr@yorku.ca Administrative Studies
Earth and Atmospheric Sciences J. Dupuis 102L Steacie 33945 jdupuis@yorku.ca Earth and Atmospheric Science
Economics Norda Majekodunmi 310D Scott 33392 nordam@yorku.ca Economics
Education Peggy Warren 310J Scott 22793 pwarren@yorku.ca Education
Engineering John Dupuis 102L Steacie 33945 jdupuis@yorku.ca Engineering
English Scott McLaren 310L Scott 88892 scottm@yorku.ca English
Environmental Studies Rosa Orlandini 102 Scott 88863 rorlan@yorku.ca Environmental Studies
Equity Studies Norda Majekodunmi 310D Scott 33392 nordam@yorku.ca Equity Studies
Film and Video Studies Kathryn Elder 125 Scott 88898 kelder@yorku.ca Film
French Peggy Warren 310J Scott 22835 pwarren@yorku.ca French Studies
Frost Library Dany Savard 110B Frost 88267 dsavard@yorku.ca Frost Library
Geography Rosa Orlandini 102 Scott 88863 rorlan@yorku.ca Geography
Health Policy and Management Thumeka Mgwigwi 310G Scott 33796 thumekam@yorku.ca
History Scott McLaren 310L Scott 88892 scottm@yorku.ca History
Humanities Scott McLaren 310L Scott 88892 scottm@yorku.ca Humanities
Human Resources Management Stephanie Quail S237V SSB 22747 quailste@yorku.ca Business
Italian Peggy Warren 310J Scott 22793 pwarren@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Kinesiology Rajiv Nariani 102L Steacie 20396 rajivn@yorku.ca Kinesiology
Law Louis Mirando O24J Osgoode 55646 lmirando@osgoode.yorku.ca Law
Linguistics and Applied Linguisitcs Norda Majekodunmi 310D Scott 33392 nordam@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Romance Languages & Literatures Peggy Warren 310J Scott 22793 pwarren@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
East Asian Languages & Literatures Haiyun Cao 105C Scott 20458 hcao@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Other Foreign Languages & Literatures Adam Taves 105D Scott 20464 taves@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Mathematics & Statistics William Denton 102N Steacie 20006 wdenton@yorku.ca Mathematics
Music Rob van der Bliek 125 Scott 88880 bliek@yorku.ca Music
Natural Science John Dupuis 102L Steacie 33945 jdupuis@yorku.ca  Natural Science
Nursing Genny Jon 102K Steacie 33927 gennyjon@yorku.ca Nursing
Philosophy Stacy Allison-Cassin 105D Scott 20461 sacassin@yorku.ca Philosophy
Physics & Astronomy Jacqueline Kreller-Vanderkooy 102J Steacie 40075 jkvan@yorku.ca Physics
Political Science Thumeka Mgwigwi 310G Scott 20073 thumekam@yorku.ca Political Science
Psychology Amy Poon 310E Scott 22406 amypoon@yorku.ca Psychology
Portuguese Peggy Warren 310J Scott 22793 pwarren@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Public Policy & Administration Thumeka Mgwigwi 310G Scott 20073 thumekam@yorku.ca Public Policy & Administration
Religious Studies Scott McLaren 310L Scott 88892 scottm@yorku.ca
Science and Technology Studies John Dupuis 102H Steacie 33945 jdupuis@yorku.ca Science & Technology Studies
Social Sciences Maura Matesic 310K Scott 66947 mmatesic@yorku.ca Social Sciences
Social Work Norda Majekodunmi 310D Scott 33392 nordam@yorku.ca Social Work
Sociology Kalina Grewal 310E Scott 88894 kgrewal@yorku.ca Sociology
Space and Communications John Dupuis 102L Steacie 33945 jdupuis@yorku.ca Space and Communications
Spanish Peggy Warren 310J Scott 22793 pwarren@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Theatre Mary Kandiuk 310H Scott 88890 mkandiuk@yorku.ca Theatre
Visual Arts, Art History Mary Kandiuk 310H Scott 88890 mkandiuk@yorku.ca Visual Arts and Arts History
Women’s Studies Kalina Grewal 310E Scott 88894 kgrewal@yorku.ca Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies
Writing Department Scott McLaren 310L Scott 88892 scottm@yorku.ca Writing Department

Other contacts

Category Contact Office Telephone Email
Major Purchases Adam Taves 516 Scott 55601 taves@yorku.ca
General Orders (books) Adriana Bugyiova 108B Scott 22798 adrianab@yorku.ca
General Orders (journals) Adriana Bugyiova 108B Scott 22798 adrianab@yorku.ca
Reserves Meredith Hatton CS133 Scott 44632 hatton@yorku.ca
Data (numeric) Walter Giesbrecht 102F Scott 77551 walterg@yorku.ca
GIS Rosa Orlandini 102 Scott 88863 rorlan@yorku.ca
Government Publications:
Canada
Peter Duerr 310N Scott 88810 pduerr@yorku.ca
Government Publications:
Foreign & International
Walter Giesbrecht 102F Scott 77551 walterg@yorku.ca
Maps Rosa Orlandini Map Library 88863 rorlan@yorku.ca
Media Purchases Kathryn Elder 125 Scott 88898 kelder@yorku.ca
Reference Patti Ryan 310R Scott 66469 pryan@yorku.ca
Sound Recordings Rob van der Bliek 105 Scott 88880 bliek@yorku.ca
Special Collections Michael Moir 305 Scott 22457 mmoir@yorku.ca
Archives Michael Moir 305 Scott 22457 mmoir@yorku.ca