Subject & Liaison Librarians

Our subject and liaison librarians are here to support you.

For Faculty and Graduate Students, Your Liaison Librarian and You explains what the Libraries’ liaison librarians do and how they can assist you. In most cases the liaison librarian is also the subject specialist for your department or faculty. To be sure though, refer to the name of your department on the list below to find the name of your liaison librarian.

Please contact Associate Dean – Collections & Research Adam Taves regarding major purchases, and general order inquiries.

For Undergraduate Students getting started with their research, or seeking a specific resource in their area of study, find your subject librarian by cross referencing the subject you’re studying with the name of the subject librarian.

Subject Librarian Office Telephone Email Department
Anthropology Kalina Grewal 310 Scott 88894 kgrewal@yorku.ca Anthropology
Biology Ilo Maimets 102K Steacie 33927 ilo@yorku.ca Biology
Business Angie An S237B SSB 66944 angiean@yorku.ca Business
Xuemei Li S237W SSB 88865 lixuemei@yorku.ca Business
Stephanie Quail S237V SSB 22747 quailste@yorku.ca Business
Chemistry Minglu Wang 102J Steacie 40075 mingluwa@yorku.ca Chemistry
Classics Tom Scott 516 Scott 55601 tscott@yorku.ca Humanities
Communications Studies Maura Matesic 310K Scott 66947 mmatesic@yorku.ca Communications Studies
Computer Science John Dupuis 102L Steacie 33945 jdupuis@yorku.ca Computer Science
Critical Disability Studies Thumeka Mgwigwi 310G Scott 20073 thumekam@yorku.ca Critical Disability Studies, Graduate Program
Dance Mary Kandiuk 310H Scott 88890 mkandiuk@yorku.ca Dance
Design Mary Kandiuk 310H Scott 88890 mkandiuk@yorku.ca Design
Digital Media Studies Rob van der Bliek 125 Scott 88880 bliek@yorku.ca Digital Media
John Dupuis 102L Steacie 33945 jdupuis@yorku.ca Digital Media
Disaster and Emergency Management Peter Duerr 310N Scott 88810 pduerr@yorku.ca Administrative Studies
Earth and Atmospheric Sciences John Dupuis 102L Steacie 33945 jdupuis@yorku.ca Earth and Atmospheric Science
Economics Adam Taves 516 Scott 55601 taves@yorku.ca Economics
Education Peggy Warren 310J Scott 22793 pwarren@yorku.ca Education
Engineering John Dupuis 102L Steacie 33945 jdupuis@yorku.ca Engineering
English Lisa Sloniowski 205C Scott 20072 lisasl@yorku.ca English
Environmental Studies Dana Craig 310D Scott 22835 dcraig@yorku.ca Environmental Studies
Equity Studies Dana Craig 310D Scott 22835 dcraig@yorku.ca Equity Studies
Film and Video Studies Rob van der Bliek (interim) 125 Scott 88880 bliek@yorku.ca Film
French  Leigh Jackson

Peggy Warren

204B Frost

310J Scott

88415

22793

leighj@yorku.ca

pwarren@yorku.ca

French Studies
Frost Library Leigh Jackson 204B Frost 88415 leighj@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Frost Library Stephanie Duncan 204B Frost 88268 seduncan@yorku.ca Social Sciences
Geography Rosa Orlandini 102D Scott 88863 rorlan@yorku.ca Geography
Health Policy and Management Thumeka Mgwigwi 310G Scott 20073 thumekam@yorku.ca  Health Policy and Management
History Tom Scott 516 Scott 55601 tscott@yorku.ca History
Humanities Tom Scott 516 Scott 55601 tscott@yorku.ca Humanities
Human Resources Management Stephanie Quail S237V SSB 22747 quailste@yorku.ca Business
Italian Studies Peggy Warren 310J Scott 22793 pwarren@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Kinesiology Rajiv Nariani 102L Steacie 20396 rajivn@yorku.ca Kinesiology
Law Yemisi Dina 1011C IKB 58404 ydina@osgoode.yorku.ca Law
Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Dana Craig 310D Scott 22835 dcraig@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Languages & Literatures – Romance Leigh Jackson 204B Frost 88415 leighj@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Languages & Literatures – Romance Peggy Warren 310J Scott 22793 pwarren@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Languages & Literatures – East Asian Haiyun Cao 105C Scott 20458 hcao@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Languages & Literatures – Other Foreign Adam Taves 516 Scott 55601 taves@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Mathematics & Statistics William Denton 102N Steacie 20006 wdenton@yorku.ca Mathematics
Music Rob van der Bliek 125 Scott 88880 bliek@yorku.ca Music
Natural Science Minglu Wang 102J Steacie 40075 mingluwa@yorku.ca  Natural Science
Nursing Ilo Maimets 102K Steacie 33927 ilo@yorku.ca Nursing
Philosophy Tom Scott 516 Scott 55601 tscott@yorku.ca Philosophy
Physics & Astronomy Minglu Wang 102J Steacie 40075 mingluwa@yorku.ca Physics
Political Science Patti Ryan 310R Scott 66469 pryan@yorku.ca Political Science
Portuguese Studies Peggy Warren 310J Scott 22793 pwarren@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Psychology Amy Poon 310J Scott 22406 amypoon@yorku.ca Psychology
Public Policy & Administration Patti Ryan 310R Scott 66469 pryan@yorku.ca Public Policy & Administration
Religious Studies Tom Scott 516 Scott 55601 tscott@yorku.ca  Religious Studies
Science and Technology Studies MInglu Wang 102J Steacie 40075 mingluwa@yorku.ca Science & Technology Studies
Social Sciences Maura Matesic 310K Scott 66947 mmatesic@yorku.ca Social Sciences
Social Work Ilo Maimets 102K Steacie 33927 ilo@yorku.ca Social Work
Sociology Kalina Grewal 310E Scott 88894 kgrewal@yorku.ca Sociology
Space and Communications John Dupuis 102L Steacie 33945 jdupuis@yorku.ca Space and Communications
Spanish Studies Peggy Warren 310J Scott 22793 pwarren@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Theatre Mary Kandiuk 310H Scott 88890 mkandiuk@yorku.ca Theatre
Visual Arts, Art History Mary Kandiuk 310H Scott 88890 mkandiuk@yorku.ca Visual Arts and Arts History
Women’s Studies Kalina Grewal 310E Scott 88894 kgrewal@yorku.ca Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies
Writing Department Tom Scott 516 Scott 55601 tscott@yorku.ca Writing Department

Other contacts

Category Contact Office Telephone Email
Major Purchases Adam Taves 516 Scott 55601 taves@yorku.ca
General Orders (books) Adriana Bugyiova 108B Scott 22798 adrianab@yorku.ca
General Orders (journals) Adriana Bugyiova 108B Scott 22798 adrianab@yorku.ca
Reserves Meredith Hatton CS133 Scott 44632 hatton@yorku.ca
Data (numeric) Walter Giesbrecht 102F Scott 77551 walterg@yorku.ca
GIS Rosa Orlandini 102D Scott 88863 rorlan@yorku.ca
Government Publications:
Canada
Peter Duerr 310N Scott 88810 pduerr@yorku.ca
Government Publications:
Foreign & International
Walter Giesbrecht 102F Scott 77551 walterg@yorku.ca
Maps Rosa Orlandini 102D Scott 88863 rorlan@yorku.ca
Media Purchases Rob van der Bliek 125 Scott 88880 bliek@yorku.ca
Reference Patti Ryan 310R Scott 66469 pryan@yorku.ca
Sound Recordings Rob van der Bliek 125 Scott 88880 bliek@yorku.ca
Special Collections Suzanne Dubeau 305 Scott 70798 sdubeau@yorku.ca
Archives Suzanne Dubeau 305 Scott 70798 sdubeau@yorku.ca