Subject & Liaison Librarians

Our subject and liaison librarians are here to support you.

For Faculty and Graduate Students, Your Liaison Librarian and You explains what the Libraries’ liaison librarians do and how they can assist you. In most cases the liaison librarian is also the subject specialist for your department or faculty. To be sure though, refer to the name of your department on the list below to find the name of your liaison librarian.

Please contact Associate Dean – Collections & Research Adam Taves regarding major purchases, and general order inquiries.

For Undergraduate Students getting started with their research, or seeking a specific resource in their area of study, find your subject librarian by cross referencing the subject you’re studying with the name of the subject librarian.

Subject Librarian Office Telephone Email Department
Anthropology Kalina Grewal 310 Scott 88894 kgrewal@yorku.ca Anthropology
Biology Ilo Maimets 102K Steacie 33927 ilo@yorku.ca Biology
Business Angie An S237B SSB 66944 angiean@yorku.ca Business
Xuemei Li S237W SSB 88865 lixuemei@yorku.ca Business
Stephanie Quail S237V SSB 22747 quailste@yorku.ca Business
Chemistry  Genny Jon 102J Steacie 40075 gennyjon@yorku.ca Chemistry
Classics Scott McLaren 310L Scott 88892 scottm@yorku.ca Humanities
Communication and Culture Kathryn Elder 125 Scott 88898 kelder@yorku.ca Communication and Culture
Communications Studies Maura Matesic 310K Scott 66947 mmatesic@yorku.ca Communications Studies
Computer Science John Dupuis 102L Steacie 33945 jdupuis@yorku.ca Computer Science
Critical Disability Studies Thumeka Mgwigwi 310G Scott 20073 thumekam@yorku.ca Critical Disability Studies, Graduate Program
Dance Maura Matesic 310K Scott 66947 mmatesic@yorku.ca Dance
Design Mary Kandiuk 310H Scott 88890 mkandiuk@yorku.ca Design
Digital Media Studies Rob van der Bliek 125 Scott 88880 bliek@yorku.ca Digital Media
John Dupuis 102L Steacie 33945 jdupuis@yorku.ca Digital Media
Disaster and Emergency Management Peter Duerr 310N Scott 88810 pduerr@yorku.ca Administrative Studies
Earth and Atmospheric Sciences John Dupuis 102L Steacie 33945 jdupuis@yorku.ca Earth and Atmospheric Science
Economics Adam Taves 507 Scott 55601 taves@yorku.ca Economics
Education Amy Poon 310J Scott 22406 amypoon@yorku.ca Education
Engineering John Dupuis 102L Steacie 33945 jdupuis@yorku.ca Engineering
English Lisa Sloniowski 205C Scott 20072 lisasl@yorku.ca English
Environmental Studies Dana Craig 102D Scott 88863 dcraig@yorku.ca Environmental Studies
Equity Studies Norda Bell 310D Scott 33392 nordam@yorku.ca Equity Studies
Film and Video Studies Kathryn Elder 125 Scott 88898 kelder@yorku.ca Film
French  Leigh Jackson 204B Frost 88415 leighj@yorku.ca French Studies
Frost Library Dany Savard 204A Frost 88267 dsavard@yorku.ca Social Sciences
Frost Library Leigh Jackson 204B Frost 88415 leighj@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Frost Library Stephanie Duncan 204B Frost 88268 seduncan@yorku.ca Social Sciences
Geography Dana Craig 102D Scott 88863 dcraig@yorku.ca Geography
Health Policy and Management Thumeka Mgwigwi 310G Scott 20073 thumekam@yorku.ca
History Scott McLaren 310L Scott 88892 scottm@yorku.ca History
Humanities Scott McLaren 310L Scott 88892 scottm@yorku.ca Humanities
Human Resources Management Stephanie Quail S237V SSB 22747 quailste@yorku.ca Business
Kinesiology Rajiv Nariani 102L Steacie 20396 rajivn@yorku.ca Kinesiology
Law Louis Mirando O24J Osgoode 55646 lmirando@osgoode.yorku.ca Law
Linguistics and Applied Linguisitcs Norda Bell 310D Scott 33392 nordam@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Languages & Literatures – Romance Leigh Jackson 204B Frost 88415 leighj@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Languages & Literatures – Romance Adam Taves 516 Scott 55601 taves@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Languages & Literatures – East Asian Haiyun Cao 105C Scott 20458 hcao@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Languages & Literatures – Other Foreign Adam Taves 105D Scott 55601 taves@yorku.ca Languages, Literature and Linguistics
Mathematics & Statistics William Denton 102N Steacie 20006 wdenton@yorku.ca Mathematics
Music Rob van der Bliek 125 Scott 33694 bliek@yorku.ca Music
Natural Science Genny Jon 102J Steacie 40075 gennyjon@yorku.ca  Natural Science
Nursing Ilo Maimets 102K Steacie 33927 ilo@yorku.ca Nursing
Philosophy Stacy Allison-Cassin 205E Scott 20461 sacassin@yorku.ca Philosophy
Physics & Astronomy John Dupuis 102L Steacie 33945 jdupuis@yorku.ca Physics
Political Science Patti Ryan 310R Scott 66469 pryan@yorku.ca Political Science
Psychology Amy Poon 310J Scott 22406 amypoon@yorku.ca Psychology
Public Policy & Administration Patti Ryan 310R Scott 66469 pryan@yorku.ca Public Policy & Administration
Religious Studies Scott McLaren 310L Scott 88892 scottm@yorku.ca
Science and Technology Studies Genny Jon 102J Steacie 40075 gennyjon@yorku.ca Science & Technology Studies
Social Sciences Maura Matesic 310K Scott 66947 mmatesic@yorku.ca Social Sciences
Social Work Norda Bell 310D Scott 33392 nordam@yorku.ca Social Work
Sociology Kalina Grewal 310E Scott 88894 kgrewal@yorku.ca Sociology
Space and Communications John Dupuis 102L Steacie 33945 jdupuis@yorku.ca Space and Communications
Theatre Mary Kandiuk 310H Scott 88890 mkandiuk@yorku.ca Theatre
Visual Arts, Art History Mary Kandiuk 310H Scott 88890 mkandiuk@yorku.ca Visual Arts and Arts History
Women’s Studies Kalina Grewal 310E Scott 88894 kgrewal@yorku.ca Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies
Writing Department Scott McLaren 310L Scott 88892 scottm@yorku.ca Writing Department

Other contacts

Category Contact Office Telephone Email
Major Purchases Adam Taves 516 Scott 55601 taves@yorku.ca
General Orders (books) Adriana Bugyiova 108B Scott 22798 adrianab@yorku.ca
General Orders (journals) Adriana Bugyiova 108B Scott 22798 adrianab@yorku.ca
Reserves Meredith Hatton CS133 Scott 44632 hatton@yorku.ca
Data (numeric) Walter Giesbrecht 102F Scott 77551 walterg@yorku.ca
GIS Dana Craig 102D Scott 88863 dcraig@yorku.ca
Government Publications:
Canada
Peter Duerr 310N Scott 88810 pduerr@yorku.ca
Government Publications:
Foreign & International
Walter Giesbrecht 102F Scott 77551 walterg@yorku.ca
Maps Dana Craig 102D Scott 88863 dcraig@yorku.ca
Media Purchases Kathryn Elder 125 Scott 88898 kelder@yorku.ca
Reference Patti Ryan 310R Scott 66469 pryan@yorku.ca
Sound Recordings Rob van der Bliek 105 Scott 88880 bliek@yorku.ca
Special Collections Michael Moir 305 Scott 22457 mmoir@yorku.ca
Archives Michael Moir 305 Scott 22457 mmoir@yorku.ca